Why are Young Living oils so expensive?

I get this question a lot. “Why are the oils so expensive? I buy my oils at Shoppers/Bulk barn/…(other store).. which is way cheaper. Why should I buy your oils?”

The first couple of times someone asked me this question, I got angry. Which is ofcoure never a good solution to any argument. Then I changed my approach. First, I noticed that most people who buy the cheap store oils are 100% sure that the oils they buy are great oils. Also, a lot of people use the cheap oils just to have their house smell nice. They use it instead of the candles or other air fresheners because someone told them once that candles are not healthy. They don’t use essential oils or other alternative solutions to create a healthier life. They just go for the smell.

Now I just ask them to use common sense and to read the labels. I ask them if the label says that the product contains is just one ingredient, or if there are multiple added? Does the label give a warning that as soon as you ingest it you’re required to call the poison centre immediately? This would already be a give away that these oils aren’t as pure as they are advertised to be.Of course, I realize that some peoples first intention is not always to create a healthier life. But, I can point out that using oils to freshen up the air is great, but if it includes harmfull chemicals your health could be at risk.

Another approach is asking if they use olive oil for cooking. I use it a lot and try to use the more expensive kind as it tends to be of better quality. To save money, I often wait till it is on sale. Most people agree with me that good quality is indeed expensive. When I tell them that you need 4-8kg of olives (approximately 1000 olives) to make 1 liter of oil and that 1 tree only has olives for 5 liters, they start to understand the reasons for the high cost. I then continue to tell them that the same applies for essential oils. In order to make 15ml of lemon-oil, you need 75 lemons.In order to make 15ml of lavender-oil, you need a 27 square feet field filled with lavender. I try to help them realize that it is impossible to produce pure 15ml Lavender oil for only 3 dollars.

Of course nobody will sign up with Young Living on the spot when I tell them this. But my hope is that next time they reach for that cheap bottle of oil, they will think of me. Then I have atleast accomplished that they will start thinking about their health somewhat. The next time I meet them, I can then talk with them again about changing their lives and living a more healthier lifestyle.

That is my goal for now: Making people more aware about what they can change their live for the better

This blog is based on my own experiences. These are my thoughts. I am not a doctor. 

Email: info@whyoils.ca / Facebook WhyOilsCanada / Website:www.whyoils.ca

Leave a Reply

